An Attempt to Remake One of My Favorite Food Memories

My version of the Spicy Lamb Burger found at Bittercreek Ale House in Boise, ID.
My version of the Spicy Lamb Burger found at Bittercreek Ale House in Boise, ID.

I first had a version of this recipe during a trip to Boise, Idaho at the Bittercreek Alehouse (www.bcrfl.com/bittercreek). I loved it so much that I made a special trip through Boise a year later on my way to Seattle with my wife (yes, it was that good). This is my version and it really is almost exactly like the original. This recipe came from a lot of trial and error, since the chef at Bittercreek would not give me their recipe (totally understandable, but I think I figured it out). I hope you like it!

 

 

 

My Spicy Lamb Burger

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. ground lamb
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1Tbsp. mint, chopped
  • 3/4 to 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 jalapeño (fire-roasted) half deseeded and chopped, the other half sliced in rounds with the seeds
  • Good Feta cheese (as much as you’d like)
  • Brioche roll

Instructions:

  • Mix the first six ingredients, and the chopped half jalapeño, and form into a patty
  • Sprinkle the patty lightly with salt and pepper
  • Place on a preheated grill and cook the first side
  • When you turn the burger over, place the jalapeño rounds and the feta on top.  Let it cook and the cheese soften.
  • Cook the burger to your preferred temperature
  • Just before the burger is finished, toast the bun
  • Serve on the toasted bun (I would suggest with some fries on the side)
Leave a Reply

