Bored? Time For A (Quick) Road Trip!

I don’t know about you, but there are times when I’m just bored. You’ve watched all the movies or shows that were on your “list of things to do” for the weekend, cleaned the house, and made sure the all of the other chores (yes, it’s just like when were all kids) are done, but something’s missing! This usually happens to us on Sunday afternoon. My wife and I are sitting on the couch and we become aware to the fact that the entire weekend has passed by without making some memories. Even though this past weekend was extended for those of us in the United States (Labor Day), we still had this happen on Sunday afternoon.

At three o’clock in the afternoon we decided that something had to be done. We had to put some miles on the car and go on an adventure, even though it was Sunday afternoon and most places would be closing within a few hours. This adventure ended up being all about food.

We live on the North Shore of Massachusetts, so it’s pretty easy to hop on the interstate and go anywhere in New England within a few hours. For this road trip, we decided to jump on Interstate 93 (I-93) and make our way back into New Hampshire. For those of you who are regulars to this blog, this is not our first trip into New Hampshire (Stocking Up on Blueberries in New Hampshire!). For those of you not familiar with this area of Massachusetts, I-93 is easily accessible from Interstate 95 (I-95). Confused about which one to choose? It’s easy to figure out which one you want, keep in mind that I-95 will hug the coast through New Hampshire and into Maine, while I-93 will take you into the heart of New Hampshire, past its majestic lakes and the mountains, and ending in Vermont. Sadly, we didn’t have the time to enjoy those views, but that’s for another day trip. This one, like I said, is all about food.

The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail...It Exists!
The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail…It Exists!

One of my biggest weaknesses in life (by that, I do mean that I need to find some kind of a support group) is ice cream. No, I’m not talking about that “fresh” stuff you find in your local store, but ice cream that’s been handmade. Ice cream that’s had some thought put into it. I make my own at home, but I love to go out and try this amazing treat at its local best. That’s why I was so excited to find out that New Hampshire has an ice cream trail (www.nhdairypromo.org). As of 2014, there are 43 locations listed on the trail, which I think I could try to make my way through over the next year (don’t judge me!), but we only had time to choose one.

After talking with a very helpful worker at the New Hampshire welcome center (www.visitnh.gov/planning-and-travel-tools/local-information-resources.aspx), we decided on Moo’s Place Homemade Ice Cream (www.moosplace.com) in Derry, New Hampshire. Our new friend at the welcome center could not stop talking about this ice cream, which made the choice easy and we were definitely not disappointed.

The store (27 Crystal Avenue, Derry, NH) is easily accessible from I-93, but there is one thing to keep in mind: it’s a cash only operation.  There’s plenty of tables to sit at outside, but they also have an indoor seating area. The ice cream is amazing! I had their New Hampshire peach (a seasonal flavor) and my wife had their caramel turtle. The ice cream was excellent and was extremely well made. The prices are also a huge positive for the business. Their small size, which is what we both got, were less than $4.00. You can’t beat that price for quality ice cream.

After our bellies were full of ice cream, there was only one thing left to do: find dinner! My wife is a macaroni and cheese fanatic, and she found out that there is a restaurant that specializes in this favorite comfort food of hers.

Mr. Mac’s (www.mr-macs.com) was not far (497 Hooksett Road, Manchester, NH) and is also easily accessible from I-93. The restaurant features both indoor and outdoor seating. My wife really enjoyed their “Cheese Please!” and was blown away by it. I stole a taste (or two) and I have to agree that it was very well made and delicious. I got their “Lobstah” and was not as blown away. Make no mistake, there was lobster in it, but the lobster flavor just wasn’t there for me. I’ll just be sure to try another one of their delicious choices the next time we visit.

With dinner and dessert taken care of, it was time to call it an afternoon and make our way back to the Massachusetts North Shore. There are many other ice cream parlors, cheese makers, and delicious food locations to visit in New Hampshire and make no mistake, we will be exploring them as much as we possibly can. It’s important to support local farmers and food shops. These places are integral parts of the places where they do business. Now, do yourself a favor and go get some ice cream!

Leave a Reply

