Mama Neville’s Lentil Soup

IMG_9487Hi, I’m Jason and I am not a soup eater. That’s right, even in the coldest months of the year I will usually avoid soup. I don’t know why, but there are very few that I can actually sit down to at dinner and enjoy. Some of them include my mother’s chicken noodle soup and my wife’s corn chowder, but there is another that really sends me back in time.

When I was very young, my mother had a good friend whose mother, Mama Neville, was a fantastic cook. One of her specialities was a very simple peasant soup that you’d probably find in any number of kitchens in Italy. Even at age five, I was hooked on her lentil soup. The flavors are simple, but very satisfying. It’s also meatless, which can come in very handy on when you’re trying to cut down on your grocery budget. The best part is that it is one of the easiest soups you can make. I guarantee that your family or guests will walk away with a smile on their faces when you serve this at your table.

Mama Neville’s Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of green lentils
  • 3 garlic cloves, grated to a paste
  • 1/2 package of frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/8 tsp. coriander
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Water

Directions:

  • After sorting through the lentils, add them to a 3-4 quart pot (the kind you make soup in) and then fill it 3/4 full with fresh, cold water. Add the oregano, coriander and garlic. Stir everything together and bring it to a boil.
  • Once the mixture has reached a boil, partially cover it and lower the heat to a simmer for 50 minutes.
  • When 50 minutes have gone by, add in the spinach and partially cover to simmer for another 10 minutes.
  • When 10 minutes have gone by, turn off the heat and stir in salt and pepper to taste, as well as a splash of some good olive oil.
  • Serve the soup in bowls with an additional small splash of olive oil.
Leave a Reply

