My Own Personal Love Story

HJ2Love is a popular subject, particularly in February. We see every possible expression of love that is available for purchase during the lead up to Valentine’s Day. But for me, there’s another day that is infinitely more precious to me. On February 5, 2005, I married my best friend and the love that I have for her has grown with each day. In fact, today we’re celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary.

We met thanks to the secret plans of a few friends, but that was just the start. That first meeting consisted of a lot of talking and my wife winning every game of pool that I challenged her to (at the time, I had no idea that her family had owned a pool table). A short time later, I was able to get her phone number and ask her out on a date. The rest, as the old saying goes, is history. It was after that first date that I made a faithful comment to a friend. He asked me how it had gone and I told him that it was, “great…I just went out with my future wife.”

You may find that hard to believe, but I knew it from that first date. She was the love of my life and I knew that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. For a long time, she had no idea that I had purchased her engagement ring a few months later and had held onto it until the right moment (which took a while). But my wait was worth it and we have never looked back.

Over the years, we’ve taken every possible opportunity to make memories with each other that will last a lifetime, and I couldn’t think of another person who I want by my side through this journey. Our adventures have taken us across the US and over oceans. We’ve eaten croissants in Paris and seafood (just me on this one, she doesn’t like it) in Seattle. Through it all, we’ve relished the chance to share new memories with each other. That’s not to say that each day has been easy.

We’ve gone through our fair share of pain and heartache, but these aren’t experiences that I would wish away. They’ve strengthened the love we have for each other and have shaped who we are. I’ve come to think that the good times, like travel, are chances for resting and relaxing with each other, while the difficult times are there to show the true strength of a marriage. I wouldn’t want anyone else next to me as I go through the highs and lows of life.

As I said, she is my best friend. As I look back on our journey, I’m amazed by every step – from how we met to the adventures we’ve embarked on. The funny thing is that this is only our 10th wedding anniversary. Imagine the stories we’ll have on our 50th! Our journey has really just begun and I can’t wait to continue forward.

 

Leave a Reply

