Time Flies When You’re Having Fun

JH
Me and my beautiful wife out for a walk in warmer weather.

It’s been a while since I had a chance to sit down and write on this blog. It’s not due to a lack of ideas or ambition, but just from a lack of time. It’s that idea of time that really inspired me as I looked at the calendar on my office wall and prepared to take it down to make room for 2016. From a very early age I can remember my mother saying the phrase, “time flies when you’re having fun.” I never thought anything of it until later in life and it rings true when looking back at 2015. I say that because this year has been fun and it’s flown by!

This has been an amazing year for me and my family. We celebrated our one year anniversary as Massachusetts residents and began to discuss plans for the future. I celebrated landing my dream job and have been doing a bit more traveling than I’ve been able to do in the past. We celebrated friendships gained and looked sadly at friendships that have faded with time. We stepped into new opportunities and looked back at what we’ve learned from the past. The year moved quickly, but the life we lived through the days on the calendar still brings a smile to my face.

I’m excited to see what 2016 will bring for us. We’re already planning to go to Paris, visit friends and relatives throughout the United States, and explore our New England home even more. We’ll be developing and testing new recipes, trying new restaurants, and introducing ourselves to foods that have yet to cross our radar screens (and our palates). I’m even going to be looking back on some of the things I did in 2015, but didn’t blog about at the time. Along the way, I’m going to be sharing a lot more of these experiences with each of you. That’s how we can each become better travelers and foodies who aren’t afraid to explore the world and the many people and cultures who call it home.

I wrote a recent blog post for work about hope (A Season of Hope) and I commented in it that I have a firm belief that hope is something we’re all born with. I also feel that we never truly lose hope, but just lose sight of it sometimes. There’s always a spark there that’s waiting to be stoked into a roaring fire of joy and optimism. As we enter 2016, make sure to push aside all of the harsh moments that 2015 has put in your path. This is a new year and a time to look with hope to a year filled with exciting travels (even if it’s to the next town over), delicious food (even if it’s your corner restaurant that’s been a staple for years), and moments that take you out of your comfort zone to meet people and do things you’ve never dreamed of.

Have a great New Year’s Eve and I’ll see you in 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

